Team prize award unfair?

So upon reading the rules, it states that the Team Prize will be awarded to the Team with the most points and upon tie, the one who completes it first. I feel like that is a bit unfair. Anyone with a lot of experience coding will obviously have a massive advantage. And others, who are just learning it for the first time because of this challenge (like our team) have basically no chance at all. Wouldn’t it make much more sense to do a random draw from all the teams who have completed and gotten the max score after Dec 12?

Not only that, but making the winner the “first to complete” also gives certain teams time zone advantages as some would have to stay up super late/get up super early just to have a chance. I dunno, just my thoughts.

3 Likes

I’m not a coder but I tend to have my entry in within a couple minutes of the day roll over.

I was also a lonewolf most of the event so it doesn’t affect me.

I showed a developer friend a couple days ago, and they’re trying to catch up now, but honestly, they’ve had more trouble than me, because as someone who works in development every day, they’re used to certain languages, and tool chains, and frameworks.

Bringing it down to pure JavaScript brings them out of their comfort area and is costing them a significant amount of time.

I’m in Eastern timezone, but I sleep like 3 hours a day.
So is my abnormal sleep cycle an unfair advantage? How can they account for that?

Nothing will ever be a perfectly even playing field, and I can already tell bouncing through the teams of 4, there will be many full-point finishers, so I expect it to come down to the “first completed team” scenario.

I guess, everyone should have their coffee ready on the last night :smiley: